Keynote Speakers

The organizers of Metabolomics 2017 are pleased to announce the confirmed keynote speakers below. Additional speakers will be added as they are confirmed. Click on each presenter to access their complete bio.

Markus Herderich

Markus Herderich has been the Group Manager - Research of The Australian Wine Research Institute (AWRI) since 2004. Markus is also an Affiliate Associate Professor at the University of Adelaide, member of the Executive Management Group of Metabolomics Australia (MA), Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD) and an Expert at the Organisation Internationale de la Vigne et du Vin (OIV).

Markus is a Chartered Food Chemist and holds a PhD and Dr (habil) from the University of Würzburg, Germany. His research interests include aroma chemistry, biological chemistry and natural products chemistry, analytical chemistry and metabolomics. Markus has authored or co-authored more than 100 peer-reviewed publications.

Prof Markus Herderich
The Australian Wine Research Institute, Australia

Jun Kikuchi

Jun Kikuchi is a Team Leader of Environmental Metabolic Analysis Research Team of RIKEN Center for Sustainable Resource Science, as well as a Visiting Professor of Nagoya University and Yokohama City University. He obtained his Ph.D. from Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, and he also continued to pursue methodological advancement for NMR analysis from purified proteins to complex metabolite and macromolecular mixture samples.

Recently, his research fields have been explored further in complex systems, such as metabolic interaction between symbiotic microbe and host, naturally collected algae and fish biodiversity, environmental soils, sediments and water systems, as well as industrial metabolic reactions such as food fermentation and biomass degradation process. Because of these complex systems, many considerable factors and variables can be computed by a variety of data science approaches. Since 2017, he is an Editorial Board Member of Scientific Reports in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology field.

Prof Jun Kikuchi
Riken, Japan
Environmental Metabolomics

Miyako Kusano

Miyako Kusano works at the School of Life and Environmental Sciences, University of Tsukuba and specialises in metabolomic profiling of plants. She has a PhD in agriculture, and she worked for sometime at the Swedish University of Agricultural Science. Through her career she has developed a keen interest in understanding how metabolomics can help produce better crops, using plants such as soybean, rice, tomato and some fungi. She supervises and directs a number of projects using headspace analysis and mass spectrometry of secondary compounds and lipids. Her work involves associations between metabolites, transcription products and proteins to understand completely the development of a phenotype that explains a quality trait of the crop.

Prof Miyako Kusano
Tsukuba University, Japan
Plant Metabolomics

Johan Trygg

Johan Trygg is a full Professor in Chemometrics at Umea University, Sweden.

Johan pioneered the development of Chemometrics on improving model interpretation, data integration and visualization of large complex multivariate data. This includes the OPLS solutions and its extensions, OPLS-DA, O2PLS and OnPLS, already in use by more than 150 companies, 50 international institutions and the top 20 pharma and biopharma companies. Johan has over the last 20 years worked with research and development of MVA and DOE technologies in a number of different areas including pulp & paper, forest and biotechnology, medical imaging, pharmaceutical manufacturing and in particular over the last 10 years on ‘omics technologies, particularly metabolomics with Swedish Metabolomics Centre ( and AcureOmics AB. Since 2015, Johan is a visiting professor at Imperial College, London (J. Nicholson) and Senior Director of R&D at Umetrics (now part of Sartorius Stedim Biotech).

Johan’s scientific track record includes 145 publications, H-factor (40), six granted patents and several awards including Baltic award for innovation and entrepreneurship (2012), Herman Wold medal in pure gold (2009) and Elsevier Chemometrics award (2008). Johan was Associate Editor for Journal of Proteome Research during 2015-2016 and since 2009 has been chair of the Chemometrics chapter within the Swedish Chemical Society.

Prof Johan Trygg
Umeå University, Sweden
Advanced Data Analysis

Xijun Wang

Xijun Wang, PhD in the field of pharmaceutical science in Hokkaido College of Pharmacy, Japan at 1998, is a professor of traditional Chinese medicines (TCM), vice president of Heilongjiang University of Chinese Medicine, China; Chairman of Specialty Committee of TCM pharmacogonosy of WFCMS.

At the beginning of 1990s, he established the theory and method of Serum pharmacochemistry of TCM (SP-TCM) for finding the effective constituents of TCMs. Entering the 21st century, he innovated the theory and method of Chinmedomics by integrating the metabolomics with SP-TCM to elucidate the scientific value of Traditional Chinese Medicine, specially to find the biomarkers of TCM syndrome and evaluate the holistic efficacy of TCM formula, to discover the effective constituents by identifying the constituents of TCMs in vivo which highly related with the biomarker trejectory while the TCM formula showing clinical efficacy. He published 170 papers on peers-review journals, and published monographs such as Chinmedomics(Elsevier,2015)and Serum Pharmacochemistry of Traditional Chinese Medicine(Elsevier, 2017).

Prof Xijun Wang
Heilongjinag University of Chinese Medicine, China
Traditional Chinese Medicine
Session Keynote Speakers

The following have been confirmed as Session Keynote Speakers. Each presenter will have a 30-minute talk at the beginning of their session. Photos and Bios coming soon!

Valerie Copie
Montana State University
Nele Friedrich
Institute of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine, University Medicine Greifswald
Mary Garson
The University of Queensland
Julian Griffin
University of Cambridge
Jia Li
Imperial College London
Tom Metz
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Daniel Raftery
University of Washington
Mark Styczynski
Georgia Institute of Technology
Lloyd Sumner
University of Missouri